Sign

This week has been full of division, rejection and pain in the United Methodist Church. Trials, accusations, and a defrocking have left me looking for signs of the church I love.

And this morning, I found my sign. This morning I was honored to witness the baptizing of two fine ladies, one of whom happened to be a child. As sweet Luna expressed why she wanted to be baptized, tears welled in my eyes. “Because I don’t know what it’s going to look like, but I know I want to be a part of this community.” As our congregation affirmed that we would support Luna’s growth in our community with our love and prayers, I knew that this is what the church needed: The faith of a young woman who only knows that she loves God, loves her family and loves her church. Luna shared that she sees love when “the community supports places like Mary’s Place and other places with our money. We help make people’s wishes come true.” I don’t think I could have said it better.

And so, in the midst of struggle, heartache and uncertainty, I believe in this sign: the welcoming in of a beautiful child into the community of God.

20131222-202141.jpg

Leave a Reply

