Steadfast

Family has been the one steady thing in my life. Whether family by blood or by choosing, I have been so blessed to have a family that not only loves me unconditionally, but also supports me in very meaningful ways.

One of my favorites things about my childhood was the proximity to so many of my cousins. All holidays, most birthdays and many long weekends were spent with any combination of Hooks or Burke cousins. Building sand castles, clinging trees, swimming, begging our parents to play Trivial Pursuit, and at the middle and end of each day, gathering around food.

It’s why, since instituting a weekly family dinner with my brother and now Seattle-based cousins, I have come to look forward to those dinners as the highlight of my week.

Family has been the most steadfast part of my life. And I look forward to many more memories and meals to be made together.

20131211-225521.jpg

Leave a Reply

