Cooking in the Fall

One of my favorite things about the Fall is the food!  In particular, soup.  I just adore soup.  I could eat a different variety pretty much every night of the week.  And in fact, I have done so.  (well, I’ve stuck with two varieties, but I have had soup for dinner every night for the last 6 nights!)  On a chilly, blustery day, there is nothing better than a big bowl of steaming soup.  Yum!

This week, my friends Mary, Anna and I made White Chicken Chili.  So easy and so tasty!

Directions:  We used this recipe.  We left out the jalapeno peppers, doubled the amount of lime juice, and used an entire rotisserie chicken.  I would also add a dash of pepper.  Serve with a dollop of sour cream (“Start with a smile and a dollop, of Daisy.”), monterey jack cheese and chips.

End result:

9131_510887376446_100500669_30394607_3162007_n

YUM!

3 thoughts on “Cooking in the Fall

  1. Mmmm… I just wrote about soup last week. Autumn is my favorite season and it really evokes soup for me – as well as socks and snuggling. I wrote about making Portuguese Kale Soup (the recipe is on the post, if you’re interested). I’m certainly going to try your White Chicken Chili… sounds so good!

  2. You know what would be good in that? Instead of the pepper or jalapeno if you wanted, you could add a little bit of chipotle tabasco sauce. It is kind of smoky and just a little bit of heat. Yum.

    Also, I should send you my grandmother’s veg soup recipe. It is super easy and really good and makes a LOT of soup.

Leave a Reply

