A double Sabbath

Washington State is, in a word, breathtaking.  This weekend the weather was absolutely fantastic, and I got a beautiful glimpse as to why people put up with the grey chilly winters.  Spring (and I hear summer too) are incredible.

Sunday a co-worker and two of her friends invited me to join them at the 19th Annual Skagit Valley Tulip Festival.   A day outside, in a valley full of flowers?  Count me in!   We left right after breakfast and made the hour drive up to Skagit Valley.  Good thing we left early, because the warmer weather apparently drew everyone outside, and traffic was already starting to pick up even before lunch.   We parked and walked around a few different fields of tulips and daffodils.   There was one point where I felt like I was in that scene from The Wizard of Oz where Dorothy and her friends are in the field of poppies.   As far as the eye could see, dots of red, yellow and pink.   I, of course, took a ton of pictures (which can be viewed on Facebook – I’ll try to put some up on Flickr later). Even though the weather was warming up, and it wasn’t grey, it wasn’t really sunny either.  It was what they call “Filtered Sun.”  An odd sensation – because it definitely wasn’t grey, and  it wasn’t sunny, yet not quite hazy either.  So while we were a little disappointed that the sun didn’t fully come out, we were still pretty enamored with the tulips!   After a full morning/afternoon of flower-gazing, we went into some small little town and had a fantastic veggie pizza for a very late lunch.   Then we decided to drive home a different way, over Deception Pass, and then ride the ferry back to Seattle.

Deception Pass State Park turned out to be a magnificent idea!  The sun decided to make a full appearance for the late afternoon.  So we spent a couple of hours walking on the pebbly beach, and making the short hike up to a point where we could look over Skagit Straight.  Sitting on the edge of the cliff, looking down as the sun sparkled on the water, we saw seals and porpoises!  There were a few people out kayaking, and I have to say I was a bit jealous of them.  Kayaking is definitely on my list of things to learn to do while living in Washington!  Laying back with the warmth of the sun on my face, I felt at peace.   I thought to myself, “This is a true Sabbath.”

Before the sun started going down, we headed back over the bridge and onto the ferry.  It was the first time I had ever ridden a car-ferry!  Very exciting!  We stood outside as long as we could stand the chilly wind, taking in views of the Cascade Mountains and Mt. Rainer.

Today was more brillant than yesterday – weather wise.  The sun was in full bloom all day.  So I took advantage of my day off by packing a lunch, my camera and my book and headed down to Green Lake, which is just about a mile’s walk from my house.  It seems that everyone called in sick to work on this beautiful Monday, because the path around the lake was full of bikers, joggers and skaters, even at mid-day!  I found a sunny little spot in the grass in which to enjoy my lunch and finish of my book.  I fell asleep in the warmth of the sun – which resulted in some funny red streaks on my arms that will be sure to get a laugh out of the girls at work tomorrow.  But that’s okay – sun-kissed and happy.

A wonderful, relaxing two days spent almost completely outside.  I couldn’t ask for anything better!!

3 thoughts on “A double Sabbath

Leave a Reply

