A Beautiful Moment

Today was one of those days that was just non-stop.  It started from the minute I walked in the door in the morning to the moment I accidentally set off the alarm trying to close up.  Yep, it was just that kind of day.  We were down a staff person on the floor, our numbers were high for this time of the month, and it was just constant constant constant movement all day long.  It was a good day, just…BUSY. 

It was in the midst of that kind of day that I had my beautiful moment.  And it was a beautiful moment that was shared by a few of the women.  A client, I’ll call her Momma T, came in today.  We hadn’t seen her in weeks, so it was of course a relief to see her walk in the doors looking healthy and happy.  She approached me and said, “I’m having the absolute best day ever!”  She shared about how she woke up that morning to the sound of her cell phone.

“I almost didn’t answer it, because I was nearly out of minutes.  But when I saw it was my lawyer, I figured I had better pick up.  And I’m so glad I did!”  Her lawyer told her to meet him at court, they had an appointment before the judge.  “I had no idea what this was about.  This wasn’t scheduled.  I thought, ‘I can’t be in trouble!  I’ve been so good!'”  So Momma T threw on her best clothes and headed down to court.  Once there, the judge said he had great news he wanted to share with her.  It was obvious that she had been making great steps at getting her life back in order, and she had been approved for her apartment!

This was great cause for celebration!  All the women standing around as Momma T told the story cheered.  Anytime any one of our ladies gets approved for housing, its a party!  It is a moment that shows how hard they have worked, and the patience and diligence they have put forth in securing housing.  As we were high-fiving, Momma T said, “And then the judge said, “But that’s not all.’  Then he gave me the biggest gift.  He told me that when I moved into my new apartment next week, that my baby girl was coming with me!  I have custody of my little girl again.  My baby is coming home!”  At this astonishing and incredible news, everyone teared up.  How could we not? 

Proud Momma T opened her bag to show new baby outfits she had bought.  All pinks and flowers.  One that said across the front, “I love my mommy.”  Her little 3 month old baby is not only being reunited with her mother, but they have a safe and clean home in which to live.

As Momma T continued to show off her new goodies for her sweet child, I said a quick prayer.  “Thank you God for this moment of beauty today.  For reminding us all of why we are here.  For moments like these of redemption.  And of hope.”

3 thoughts on “A Beautiful Moment

Leave a Reply

