A Wedding post!

Sorry for the delay! Finally, an update on my sister’s wedding!

Friday started with the bridesmaid’s luncheon.  As a tribute to our Memma, Alison had decided to have the luncheon at the Yacht Club – our grandmother’s old stomping grounds.  It was a wonderful luncheon and true enough, we could feel her presence with us that day!

101_3075  <– All the bridesmaids outside of the Yacht Club

The rehersal Friday night went well, though Scott did ask to practice the lighting of the unity candle 3 times.  He was so afraid he was going to trip over her dress!  I had made a fantastically ridiculous bouquet for my sister to carry for the rehearsal; made out of a sampling of the ribbons from various wedding gifts.  I even made Scott a little boutonniere! 

flowers

During the rehearsal we kept getting a kick out of Jack, the 3 year old ring bearer, because he kept burping!  His mother was mortified, but we just couldn’t stop laughing!  The rehearsal dinner was great as well.  Big Jim from our church combined efforts with the ladies from Scott’s church and had a wonderful BBQ dinner waiting for us!  Ribs, chicken, potato salad, baked beans and salad! Yum!  I was helping Mary Frances, the 7 year old flower girl, fix her plate.  I asked her if she wanted ribs or chicken.  “Oh neither, I’m a vegetarian.”  (which she’s not – but just to hear her say it was so stinkin’ cute!)  One of the youth from our church made a great video of Scott and Alison, embarrassing baby pictures and all!!  Best-man and Burke-side cousin Daniel gave a speech that made it sound like my sister was naggy, but ended by saying how he had seen time and time again evidence of Scott’s love for her.  My dad teared up in his speech.  And I shocked the crowd when I told them that Alison was not the first Hooks sister Scott had married. 

Scott and I went to school together.  Our freshman year of high school we ended up hanging out together at a Sadie Hawkin’s dance because both of our dates and dumped us for each other.  The dance theme was country-fied, and there was a booth where you could “get hitched” to your date.  After watching our dates come out of the booth with their plastic gold rings and pre-printed wedding certificate, Scott looked at me and said, “So uh, I guess…do ya wanna get hitched?”  

The story brought the perfect amount of laughter from the crowd as I closed saying that I couldn’t be happier that Scott had stuck around to marry the right sister for him. 🙂

When Saturday arrived, all lists were forgotten. It was finally the big day, and all that mattered at this point was the union of Scott and Alison.  A day they, and really all of us, had been waiting for many years to arrive.  The weather could not have been more perfect.  Clear blue skies, a slight breeze and a warm sun.  Alison looking stunning in her gown and Scott was so handsome in his tux.  Our cousin’s wife Stephanie told us she wished she had waited till after the wedding to buy tickets to take her daughter to Disney World, because as soon as little Maddie saw Alison she looked up and said, “Look Mommy!!  A princess!”  101_3140

The wedding flowed beautifully and no one messed up.  Except for when the pastor, Brother David, lost him composure.  But who could blame him.  After my father kissed Alison’s cheek after giving her away, he shook Scott’s hand, and then smacked him on the butt!!  It was so hard and so loud it actually echoed in our carpeted church!

101_31431

The reception was packed out!  The wedding had completely filled the church sanctuary, to the point where it was standing room only!!  It was hard to pack everyone in the reception hall, but we made it work!  There was a live Big Band and everyone had a great time dancing!! 101_3176  <— Cousin/Bridesmaid Jamie caught the bouquet!!

The groom’s cake was a hit:  A chocolate cake with a jeep stuck in the mud (with mud “flying” off the back tires!), complete with a groom and a bride sitting in the jeep.  Too cute!!  cake

101_3184 <—Newlyweds leaving the reception!

After the wedding, out of town guests and family headed back to our house where Kris and I played bartenders!  Alison and Scott came over, and Alison chopped ALL her hair off! 

haircut

It was a wonderful week all in all!  Exhausting, but wonderful.

kris <—-me and my handsome man!

Many blessings and greatest congratulations to my new brother Scott and my dear sister Alison!!

3 thoughts on “A Wedding post!

  1. Great post!!! Looks like you guys had a fabulous time! What is it about marriage and shedding the locks. The weekend after our honeymoon, I had ALL OF MY HAIR chopped off like a boy. But, I have to say, I’ve never seen anyone do it that quickly! Nice.

  2. One of the bridesmaids, and Alison’s new niece, Dannielle, cut her hair. She also did Alison’s hair, my hair and two of the bridesmaids for the wedding. She had a busy day! 🙂

    Yeah Mary, I notice a lot of people cut off all their hair after the wedding. I think Alison wins the prize!! We all got a big kick out of it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

