Arrival

So, I won’t complain about the cold, knowing that I have freezing Yammies in Alaska, Chicago, NYC and DC.  I won’t complain about the aching feet from walking all these Washington hills because it gives me the opportunity to see my community up close.  I won’t complain about the feelings of being overwhelmed and a little scared as I visited Mary’s Place (my new site) for the first time today, because everyone was so inviting.  I won’t complain the new time differences that make phone calls between Kris and I difficult because at least we are in the same country now.  And I won’t complain about being lonely (yet), because my wonderful mother has been here with me this week, helping me get settled in and meeting my new community.
 
But what I will do is be thankful for the chance to start afresh, however scary that may be.  I will continue to keep my eyes open for chances to settle into this new life.  I will be adventurous and learn my way around.  And I will say this – only three days in, and I’m already falling in love with this city!!
4 thoughts on “Arrival

  1. So exciting!!! I have ALWAYS wanted to visit Seattle. Maybe it is my deep love for Seattle Grace Hospital 🙂 I can’t wait to hear all about it. Post pictures please!

  2. liz,
    where in seattle are you living? my sister has been out there for three years. i love following all your adventures through your blog. hope all is well.
    bethany

  3. love you liz hooks. and praying for your transition. and seriously, would take your address anytime you want to send it =)

Leave a Reply

