Happy New Year

It is hard to believe that it is a whole new year.  (Don’t we all say that, every year?  I think so.)  But it is true.  This time last year I was celebrating with the Bethune House women, then home on skype celebrating on the New Years between Hong Kong time and East Coast time with my funny friend David.  Now here I am, back in Kentucky (for the week at least), ringing in the new year with some of my closest and dearest friends (and of course the wonderful boy).

It has been an amazing year, full of travel, lots of learning, new friends and of course, challenges along the way.  But I can honestly stand here today (and I am actually standing as I write this, as my laptop is on the ironing board….ah to be a visitor), and I can say that I am beyond pleased with this past year.  I made a point to enjoy life, to learn as much from as many people as I could, and I feel I accomplished those goals.  I also wanted to make last year a year of learning about my Identity.  Who am I?  Why am I here?  You know, life’s simple questions.  And I do feel that I have a better idea of who I am, and where I belong; lessons learned through the hard times of finding out who I was not.

I am looking forward to 2009, and the challenges and suprises it brings.  I cannot wait to start the year off in a new city, and hope the year is full of visits from and/or to dear friends and family, hopefully a little bit of travel, and many new experiences.   So, whatever time zone you are currently celebrating in, I wish you and yours a wonderful and safe time of celebration, and all the best in the New Year!

Leave a Reply

