And the winner is….

So Mary is the winner of a free week’s stay on my couch in……Seattle!!!  (though if I find out Valerie leaked info to you, you’ll have to bring your own couch, which would actually be helpful, considering I don’t have one…..)

That’s right folks, I’m moving to Seattle!  The the land that produces more apples (10-12 billion hand picked apples), cow’s milk and raspberries (57 million pounds) than any other state; that has more coffee bean roasters and college degrees per capita; the state that a gorge deeper than the Grand Canyon (Hell’s Canyon) and more glaciers than any other state save for Alaska.  A state where the majority of our nation’s mint is grown; that has the nation’s longest  accessible beach (aptly named Long Beach); and is the birthplace of such favorites as Jimi Hendrix, Bing Crosby, Nirvana, Kenny G (okay, maybe he’s not a favorite), Pat Boone (again, just throwing names out here to impress you), the yellow Happy Face, and the Far Side comics.  The Evergreen State – the state with the cleanest air quality in the nation.  Can you tell I am excited?

I will be working for the Church of Mary Magdalene at their ministry, Mary’s Place (yes, I see the irony in the winner and the name of my placement), a homeless center that offers education and health classes, rehabilitation, and a place to rest during the day.  The center is active in city advocacy and women’s empowerment.  They offer services to women and children only, and offer a wide variety of services.  There is a possibility I could be helping to offer advice and education on the immigration system in the States, as many of the women are also migrants and immigrants who have no idea how to navigate the Immigration system.  I have been in contact with the two directors, and they sound like amazing women whom I am thrilled to work with!

This placement will also be 15 months of volunteer service, with my living expenses being taken care of by the UMC.  When I am finished with this placement, I will be finished with the Mission Intern program (and no, I don’t know what I am going to do afterward).

When I first found out, I was a little disappointed, because I had honestly had my heart set on Denver.  But the more research I do about Mary’s Place and about Seattle, the more I feel this is where I need to be.  I start in February and cannot wait!!  I expect many visitors, so go ahead and start saving up for your plane tickets!!!

6 thoughts on “And the winner is….

  1. I swear I did not tell her anything, but honestly, that’s probably mostly because of geographic proximity. I have a huge mouth and actually told four other people (if you count my husband). But I made them promise they wouldn’t guess.

    Sorry. I’m just so excited.

  2. I know one very cool person in Washington state (Brooke) now I’ll know two. 🙂 And that will make Brooke happy b/c know I’ll have two reasons to come visit!

  3. Obviously, I would never cheat 🙂 It’s just the first city I think of in that state. Although, Val is right… if I lived in Nashville she probably would have told me.

    Congrats. This looks like a great placement.

  4. Truth be told, I haven’t read your blog since right after I came home from HK, and I am now reminded of the fact that you, my sista, have a knack for blogging. But anyway, YEAH SEATTLE!! Everyone who’s been to Washington always talks about how wonderful it is! You must be relieved about coming home…as part of being all emotionally mixed up. : ) Good luck to you and God bless!

    p.s. sent out your check today. lucky for me I just ordered checks for the first time in my life two weeks ago, haha

Leave a Reply

