Cause nothing else is generating comments around here….

Following Stephanie, Nick, Valerie and Heather

What was your favorite birthday?  That’s really hard to say.  I told Val that I wanted to claim her half-birthday in Atlanta as my favorite, but I don’t think that’s allowed.  So, it would either have to be my 23rd, when Val and Stephanie drove up to Kentucky to surprise me!  Or, my 25th.  It was my first birthday with a boyfriend, and he treated me like a queen all day.  (That was also the birthday that I got the world’s most awesome mixer!)

What is your favorite way to spend a day off?  Sleeping.  Hiking.  Sleeping. Watching movies.  Sleeping.   

What is the best song to turn all the way up and sing along to?  Ohhh, I LOVE singing along with the Rent soundtrack.  And when I’m cleaning house, to Maroon 5. 

What television show will cause you to ignore your roommate/spouse/children/phone until the next commercial?  Okay, this is actually my biggest pet peeve!  If I am calling you, especially all the way from Hong Kong, you had best be turning that TV off!  My mom used to tell me not to call during Desperate Housewives, and my sister won’t talk to me during Grey’s.  Maybe its because I’m just so used to DVR or watching TV via the internet, but it just seems to me that actual physical time with people or phone time trumps TV any day!  Okay, stepping off my soap box now. 

When was the last time you cursed at the TV?  Well, I don’t own a TV, so it would have been at the internet.  And it was watching the Sarah Palin interview with Katie Couric, when she said, “I didn’t have life handed to me.  I didn’t graduate and my parents hand me a passport.  I’ve worked my whole life.”  As a girl who worked countless odd jobs throughout college and put herself through seminary tending bar, and STILL managed to travel around the world, I was beyond offended at that statement.  I left the country for the first time when I was only 16, and my parents didn’t hand me anything.  In fact, they told me that if I wanted to go to Africa, that I would have to pay for it all myself.  It was one of the greatest things they ever told me, because it made me work for something I desperately wanted, and showed me that if there was anything I wanted in life, if I worked hard enough for it, I could do it.  To blame not traveling on the lack of being handed something on a silver platter is beyond ignorant, it is infuriating and insulting to the rest of us.  Again, stepping off my soapbox. 

If you have kids, what are you most likely to let your kids get away with when you are tired?  Well, I don’t have any kids, but in Kentucky, I did live in a house with 4 dogs and 2 boys, so it was kinda like I had kids.  And I was most likely to them get away with getting up on the couch (the dogs, not the boys). 

Aside from major milestones, what is your best moment (to date)?  Geez, this is a hard one!!  Everything I think of is a milestone! Ummmm, I’d have to say it is a toss up between the night with Kirby, and the Thanksgiving in Atlanta when I had all the people that I loved most in the world (at the time) in one house, celebrating my favorite holiday.

Are you an extrovert, or an introvert?  How do you know?  I think I used to be an extrovert, but I’d have to say that in the last couple of years I’ve become more of an introvert.  I find it harder to make friends, and if I don’t have at least a little bit of alone time each day, I become really grumpy and emotional.

What is your single biggest pet peeve that you see in other drivers (as in you are not in the car with them)?  Well, my biggest pet peeve of a driver I’m in the car with (or passenger) is when they talk on their cell phone endlessly.  It goes back to that whole physical presence thing – appreciate who you’re with instead of wasting time with that person while on the phone!  In other drivers, honkers.  I hate the car horn.  World’s worst invention next to the bomb.  In Hong Kong, they don’t just honk to say, “Move it buddy.”  No, the lay on their horns for a good 2 minutes.  I’ve been known to actually physically hit a car with my hand to tell them to shut it.

What is a fashion trend or item that you really admire on other people but would never dare try?  I’d have to agree with Heather to an extent, on some women, tattoos are really beautiful. I particularly like ones that cover the shoulders or upper arms. And while I have my small, hidden one, I just don’t know that I’ll ever have the guts to get something large and showy. 

If you could go to college again right now and major in anything you wanted and follow up another something, what would it be?  Anthropology.  I got a taste of it in seminary, and if it didn’t take 10 years to earn your doctorate, I’d probably go back and do it!!

What is the most interesting job/duty you’ve ever had? What was interesting about it?  I know that I’m a rare breed here, but I don’t know that I’ve ever had a job I didn’t like.  My first job was working in a Christian bookstore where I could read during slow hours and had free reign on the jellybelly wall. I babysat my way through high school and college.  I worked in various churches and camps.  I really loved being a bartender.  I loved mixing drinks and talking with people.  But so far, this is my favorite job of all.  I love the balance of office work and getting out in the march.  I love the travel it allows and the people I meet.  I love that my job often requires me to bring my camera.  And I love the people I work with.  Its gonna be really hard to leave!

What are three words you use in your job/daily life that most other people probably don’t?  Majikan (Indonesian for employer).  Salamat (Tagalog for thank you). Um goy (Cantonese for excuse me).  Oh, English words? 🙂  Solidarity.  Imperialism.  Placement.  (as in, what will my domestic placement be??)

Do you make fun of yourself?  About what?  Oh, a lot of things.  How sensitive I am about things.  How I can be slightly OCD about things.  About how impatient I can be.  How I can’t sing or dance (cause you know, I’m white).  The list could go on….

Do you have a good relationship with your dad?  The best!!  My dad is one of my best friends, and I tell him practically everything.  Though we differ on a LOT of things, he is still someone I know that I can always go to and express myself honestly.  He knows how to push my buttons, but he also knows how to make me laugh.  So not a bad combo. 🙂 

~~~new questions~~~~

What is your favorite color?  No, just kidding.

What scent carries the most memories for you?  The smell of Bath and Body Work’s Cucumber Melon hand gel.  Even the hint of a whiff sends me immediately back to Uganda, Africa.  I can feel the sun beating on my neck, the dust clinging to the back of my legs, the exhaustion weighing down my arms and exhilaration lifting my soul.  That smell reminds me of why I am where I am today.  Where it all started.

If you could only ask one question for the rest of your life, what would it be?  Given the choice, which would you rather a be pirate, or a ninja?

5 thoughts on “Cause nothing else is generating comments around here….

  1. Ponds cold cream carries the most memories for me.

    My one question would be, “Why?”

    And the half birthday in Atlanta was a lot of fun. So was driving up for your birthday.

  2. Scent: I can’t describe it but sometimes I am places that carry the smell of my grandparents house (either set) in Illinois and I can be instantly transported back there. There is no rhyme or reason for the random places that I run into that smell I just do sometimes.

    Question: “Are you going to finish that?”

Leave a Reply

