Update-ish

Sorry for the sporadic blogging lately.  First, I was just incredibly busy, working, traveling, and the like.  Now, I am just so exhausted, that the energy it would take to create a new post/return emails, roll off my couch, is overwhelming.  Its pathetic, I know. 

After 3 straight weeks of working more than my body could handle, its all catching up to me in grand fashion.  I’ve been sick since the Ubuntu group left, and just can’t seem to shake it.  I know it is more exhaustion than anything. (Case and point: I had 8 hours sleep last night – which is about 3 hours more than my norm, got up the morning to watch the debate, then went back to sleep from 2 till 7pm.  And I’m still tired.)   So, that’s the big news here.  I’m sick, and tired, and just generally sick of being tired and tired of being sick.  But life goes on.

In other news, I’m leaving for the Philippines in just over a week.  I’ll be gone for just over a month.  I am incredibly excited to see my dear friend Kerr, a fellow Mission Intern, and co-founder of Team Asia.  I’ll stay with Kerr for a week at her placement site (well, her placement site AND the beach with scuba-diving, cause, ya know. Why not?)  Then I’ll be in Manila for a little over 3 weeks.  One will be an immersion with Migrante and other other migrant organizations we are connected with.  Week two will consist of preparing for the big General Forum on Migration and Development, which is (obviously) being hosted in Manila this year.  Since no migrants or migrant-serving organizations were actually invitedto this major world conference, we’ve decided to host our own counter-conference.  The last week of October will be the conference, and the first week of November I will be attending the Migrante Conference.  Busy month ahead.

When I return, I will have exactly one month and 3 days left in Hong Kong.  Even more exciting (?) than that, I will have less than 30 days before Kris arrives!!!  To say that this year of seperation from him has been difficult would be the understatement of the year!!  But I have been beyond blessed with an incredibly supportive partner, and I can’t wait for him to arrive, to meet my friends and co-workers, visit my church, my work place, and to do a little traveling of our own!

Well, that’s about all the update I have for now.  Hopefully soon I’ll be able to kick this sick-thing and post something interesting.

Leave a Reply

