Why I blog

While some may think that I blog to make everyone jealous with my stories of riding elephants through the tourist-jungle of Thailand – really, that’s not it.

My title is “Walk With Me.”  When I first started blogging, back in the days of the Bartending Seminarian, it was a way for me to connect with people that I was fond of, but otherwise had not had much or regular contact with since college.  I enjoyed the updates, pictures and silly discussions on pirates vs. ninjas.  Over the years (can you believe we have been blogging for years!?!) over blogs have each evolved and become a little deeper, a little more introspective.  There have been really great discussions – sometimes I felt like I was sitting in McAlister’s, or Panacea, listening to the sarcasm and wit of dear friends. 

As of late, I’ve noticed a trend – well, I think its safe to say we’ve all noticed a trend, that when we post the things that are painful to write, or are deeper than a weather-update, the comments seem to be lacking.  I don’t know that I can speak for everyone, but when I post the harder stuff, the deeper stuff, the things that make me think – I’m doing so because I want to share my thoughts, and because I want your input as well.  There are things that I write, and things that I post.  When I post its because I am wanting to draw my friends into conversation. 

I also want it to be said that updates, pictures, silly surveys (see post below), and such like of the which are fun and great and have a place here too.  Because honestly, we’re fun people – so why shouldn’t we share our fun sides on the blogs as well?  But, I miss the discussions that used to take place here.  While I didn’t participate in the politics discussion because that’s a topic I usually steer away from, it was good to see people out and talking (umm, commenting) again.  I don’t have to be reminded that we have crazy busy lives with a collective 4 babies on the way, three degrees in the making, and a wedding.  And then we have jobs. We lead busy lives. But.  The people that I have on my sidebar – the blogs that I check faithfully – are people that I genuinely care about and am interested in what is happening in your life.  So, know that I am always reading, even if I don’t always comment.  And I am going to try to get better.  And I hope you will too.  I’m not just saying here at Walk With Me – but in our community of blogs. 

There has also been the comment that sometimes there are no comments because we feel intimidated on certain subjects, or feel like we don’t have a place to say anything.  Or that some things are just too personal and they are conversations to be had in person.  Well, yes, that may be true (about conversations being personal – I’m pretty sure none of us have a valid reason to feel intimidated – you all are pretty stinkin’ smart!).  I am guilty of feeling intimidated.  There are times that I feel like I having nothing to contribute, because my knowledge on the subject is lacking.  But, I learn from you guys. And conversations over coffee are a luxury.  And maybe blogs aren’t the place for that, but if not, then where?  Just because I don’t get to see you all very often, doesn’t mean I want to miss out on communicating with you. 

So that’s my rant for today.  Not applicable to all, I know.  Just know that if you are on my sidebar, its because I value what you have to say. So I hope that next time someone in our community posts something thoughtful, we, particularly I, can take the time to let them know we appreciate their thoughts.

Also, blog and blogging are not recognized by the blog-spellcheck.  Odd.

5 thoughts on “Why I blog

  1. I’ve been blogging for 8 months now. I’m nearing 20,000 hits. I get around 75-130 hits per day. However, some days I get no comments. Other days, I get a good amount of comments. It’s hit and miss, I think. Only somewhere between 5 and 10 percent of my readers respond. Crazy. Don’t get too down about it. Keep blogging anyway. While it is a forum for discussion and conversation, it is also a place to chart your progress, recount life events and store memories. The comments, I think, are like a cherry on top. I take comfort in the fact that I’m reaching so many people all over the world every day and that this number is always increasing. I see it as a way to take the Gospel to the ends of the earth. Sometimes it is like I’m the one preaching and everyone else is just listening/reading. Anyway, I enjoy reading your blog since I’ve found it. Keep up the good work.

  2. You are a beautiful writer Elizabeth and I love reading your thoughts. I will find more ways to comment even when I feel my musings won’t measure up. I love reading your blog!

  3. As I am trying to swat the crosshairs away from me 😉 I too need to make more of an effort to comment on posts whether I think I am smart enough or not. I could probably even lay off the sarcasm at times (even though we all know that I really am as funny as I think I am…see there I go again).

    Thanks for the post!

  4. I struggle with this, too, Elizabeth. That’s why I stopped for a while. When I stopped, that’s when everyone started asking why and let me know that they read it all the time, even though about 75% of my known readers NEVER comment.
    I’m trying to be better about checking in and saying something as well.
    I think a lot of times many don’t comment on the deeper things because the response would be a blog in its self or because the writer has put it so well in words… what could one add?
    So, I’m listening/reading.
    Did you know that they closed our McAlister’s? Sad. I loved going there with you all. I miss that fellowship so very much.

  5. McAllister’s in Prattville is open and while for those in Hong Kong it might be a bit of a haul, but those of you in “The Gump” that are feeling a bit nostalgic it is still good quality and worth the ride out to “The Preferred Community”.

Leave a Reply

