Yes, Thankful

So, while my Thanksgiving consisted of tofu and cereal, I do feel like I should update a little since Thursday.  My family convinced me to get up in the middle of the night to “join” them at their dinner via webcam.  So, at 2:30 in the morning, I sat at the head of the table in my parents house and watched my family eat all of my favorites, teased my brother about his new girlfriend, talked with my aunt from Albania about her daughter’s upcoming wedding, and watched my grandfather make silly faces into the camera when no one else was looking.  After talking to my family, I joined Kris via webcam and watched as he cooked.  It was a surreal, yet comforting feeling to be able to be a part of the mundane things in his life, such as cooking and cleaning.  I was up until 4:30am, but it was so worth it to join my family and boyfriend for Thanksgiving.  It doesn’t make up for not being there, but it sure is the next best thing!! 

 Also, I just want it to be known, I tried to buy a turkey to make for myself.  Does anyone want to wager a guess as to how much a turkey costs in Hong Kong!?  For a 10 pound turkey, which was the smallest size they had, it would have cost me $75 US!!  Unreal!!  So, I settled for tofu for dinner, and a cereal snack.  But, joy of joys, one of the Sisters from the church I work at is a Philipina-American.  She got invited to a Thanksgiving dinner for Nuns and Priests (how fun would that be?), and promised to sneak me out a couple slices of turkey.  Bless her little scavenger-heart! 

So, there is much to be thankful for.  For family, dear friends, health, beauty, community, tears, love…..

“You have turned my mourning into joyful dancing.  You have taken away my clothes of mourning and clothed me with joy, that I might sing praises to You and not be silent.  O Lord my God, I will give You thanks forever!” ~Psalm 30:12

2 thoughts on “Yes, Thankful

Leave a Reply

