You like me! You really like me!

I know that I have slacked in my posting this week, which makes winning this award even more humbling.  And I promise to get back into the swing of things very soon.  In my defense, every day this week has been at least a 12 hour work day.  But, the weekend is here, the weather is cooling down, and I have at least 4 posts on reserve, so stick with me!  Now on the the award. 

 I was tagged by the wonderful Emily (one of two wonderful Emily’s, mind you!) with this award.  I know that it is just a little icon at the top of my blog, but it is amazing how the little things can have the greatest effect.  It was an honor to have my blog recognized by a gifted writer.  And her comments about my blog and my previous comment on her page were very kind. 

So, in keeping with tradition, I now pass on the rules:

1. If, and only if, you get tagged, write a post with links to five blogs that make you think;
2. Link to this post so that people can easily find the exact origin of the meme;
3. (Optional) Proudly display the “Thinking Blogger Award” with a link to the post that you wrote.

I pass this along to:

~Heather ~ I love the way she shares so openly.  I never know what to expect: a cute post about her beautiful boys, a tear-jerker of a poem, or thoughtful insights on Scripture.  AND – she responds to every comment EVER!  Fantastic! 🙂

~~~The next four recipients are four of 16 fabulous Young Adult Missionaries (YAMs) that I had the true honor of training with this summer.  We are scattered literally all over the world, but our bond runs deep and strong and I am so thankful for their community~~~~~

~Katie ~ She may not post as often as I would like (hint hint Kinne!), but she has a knack for finding fantastic quotes that have impeccable timing.  She also has some wonderful stories that will make you laugh and think at the same time.  Quite the talent this young lady.  Oh, and her pictures of Denver make me want to live there even more than I already did!

~David ~ You may remember my beardless friend from my last post.  I have used quotes from his blog a few times.  He is currently serving in Israel/Palestine and has a true gift for writing with beauty and grace the things he is experiencing.

~Abby ~ How I love Dear Abby!!  When I read her blog, I feel as though I am sitting next to her in the park on a sunny day, pondering the wonder that is life and creation.  She is finding what it means to be a part of true community in Grenada as she learns to haul in the nets and play the steel drum!

~Kerr ~ A true storyteller.  This summer, she kept us in stitches with her wildly hilarious stories.  Her blog shows her insightful side as she shares her gift in writing about her experiences in the Philippines.  I am always amazed at her strength and thoughtfulness.

 ~~~~~~

Honorable mention:

~Aristaeus ~ He really deserves a whole other award – he is not only a thinking blogger – but one who has pushed the “safe” thought boundries of so many.  Sitting in his classroom – wether that was in Flower’s Hall, or under a tree on the Green – I learned something more than just the great authors of literature or theories of philosophy and religion.  I learned to think.  I thought about what I was saying, what I was writing; where it was coming from, where it was going, how it was forming me, forming those around me.  He created a safe space to explore new thoughts – and even now, three universities removed, through his blog, he is continuing to inspire me to continue in my thinking, writing, learning and growing.  Sorry I don’t have a cool icon for you too.

“I haven’t had an orthodox career, and I’ve wanted more than anything to have your respect. The first time I didn’t feel it, but this time I feel it, and I can’t deny the fact that you like me, right now, you like me!”   (10 bonus points for anyone who can name that quote without looking it up! 🙂

9 thoughts on “You like me! You really like me!

  1. Thank you for your kind words, Liz. I am lucky to have known such wonderful students and even luckier to keep in touch with them via the pretty Internets. I am proud of you.

  2. Nick wins; I had to look it up. But –

    a. how did you memorize an acceptance speech from Sally Fields?
    and
    2. Nick, if you didn’t look it up, you need to explain yourself.

  3. I actually did not look it up but it is one of those “classic tv” moments. Its a pop culture kind of thing that I should probably be flogged for knowing but that is just one of my many quirks that make me me. 🙂

  4. I figured Nick or Valerie would be the one to get the quote, since they are both full of useless knowledge. I knew the quote because I used it once in a speech I gave my freshman year of college. 🙂 (with credit of course)

  5. Wow, Liz! I’m honored! I would post my picks, but, you know, they’d be all the same YAMs. I guess I need to expand my blogging horizons!

    Love you, and am praying for you and for the web of relations surrounding you.

Leave a Reply

