It all comes down to one…

Wow – in just a little over 12 hours, I will be boarding a plane for Hong Kong.  I still can’t believe that I am going.  I have spent today battling tears and anxiety.  Am I really ready?  Am I really the person for this?  What in the world made me think I could spend 16 months away from my boyfriend, my dog, my dear friends, my family!?  Yet, in the same thought, I know that I AM prepared, I AM ready, and like it or not, I AM going. So, for the final day on my countdown, one prayer:

 “Lord, I am sitting here, overwhelmed, scared, excited.  I know that You have been guiding me and my heart for a long time.  You have been working in my heart and my mind, and look where You have brought me!  I am so amazed to know that such a powerful God has been guiding me all these years.  I am so thankful for such an amazing support group – my family, my church, my friends.  These are all people that I know You have put into my life – and what a blessing they are at a time like this!

As the moment is quickly approaching to step out (or fly out, as it is), I am asking for faith to trust You.  I ask for strength to do the work that is needed.  And for the grace to understand what it means to work WITH, not work FOR.  For patience – both for me as well as for those I am working with – as we deal with the barriers of language and different cultures.  For my family – that they may have peace of heart and mind, knowing that I am taken care of.  For the pain of seperation.  It won’t be easy, being away from those I love: my family, Kris, and all those friends who are so dear to my heart.  Keep our communication clear and constant.

And Lord, tomorrow, as I am traveling, please be with the pilots, the work crews, the equipment, the others on the plane – guide us all safely to our destinations, and may our luggage arrive when and wherever we do.

Thank You for Your blessings abundant, Your peace and joy over something new!  Graciously, Your child.”

8 thoughts on “It all comes down to one…

  1. A MercyMe song for you…

    On the other side of the world
    She stands on the ocean shore
    Gazing at the heavens she wonders
    Is there something more
    Never been told the name of Jesus
    She turns and walks away
    What a shame

    Just across the street in your hometown
    Leaving from his nine to five
    Gazing down the road he wonders
    Is this all there is to life
    Never been told the name of Jesus
    He continues on his way
    What a shame

    [CHORUS:]
    Whom shall I send
    Who will go for me
    To the ends of the earth
    Who will rise up for the King
    Here am I send me
    Here am I send me

    Whether foreign land or neighbors
    Everyone’s the same
    Searching for the answers
    That lie within your name
    I want to proclaim the love of Jesus
    In all I do and say
    Unashamed

    [CHORUS]

    [BRIDGE:]
    How beautiful are the feet of those who bring good news
    Proclaliming peace and your salvation

  2. AFOOT and light-hearted, I take to the open road,
    Healthy, free, the world before me,
    The long brown path before me, leading wherever I choose.

    Henceforth I ask not good-fortune—I myself am good fortune;
    Henceforth I whimper no more, postpone no more, need nothing,
    Strong and content, I travel the open road.

  3. Best wishes and have fun. I know you will do a great job sharing with the people of Hong Kong. Keep us all up to date on your adventures.

    Vaya Con Dios!!

  4. Good luck liz! I know you have always wanted to do something like this. It is going to be one of the best experiences of your life but I know it’s scary. Keep in touch with us!!

  5. It’s crazy to think that if you left at noon, you still wouldn’t be there! Hope you’re having a good flight!

  6. Here’s hoping the in-flight movies are better than when Mechelle and I went to Spain (Mickey Blue Eyes, and the live-action Inspector Gadget…which I might add is much better in Spanish than English).

  7. Oh, and I meant to tell you- I don’t think we have room for Hank, so let me know when you get there and I’ll put him in a box for you. Thanks! 🙂

Leave a Reply

